Activity 1 – Welcome!

Kia ora, hi and

My name is Antony Paine and I am a year 5/6 teacher at Freemans Bay School (FBS) in Auckland, New Zealand.

Currently I am studying for a Post-Graduate Certificate in Applied Practice (Digital and Collaborative Learning) through Mindlab, and having started to implement some of the digital and collaborative tools I have learnt about into my classroom, I am now writing my first reflective blog!

I entered teaching with experience in outdoor education and completed my Bachelor of Education (Teaching) Primary from the University of Auckland in 2011. At that time I was only able to secure a part time (0.6) role as the Sports Coordinator and Health and Physical Education (HPE) Teacher at Parnell District School (PDS) in Auckland. During my 2 years at PDS I was also studying for a Bachelor of Education (Teaching) (Honours) which I completed in 2013 with a dissertation on the effects of The National Standards (2010) on the teaching and learning of HPE in Primary Schools.

I am now in my 6th year of teaching and learning but am only eligible for full registration at the end of this year. It has been a fascinating journey and I know now that I have finally found my true career path at the ripe old age of 42!

In my 2nd year at FBS (2015) the school made two changes that were to effect forever the way I looked at teaching and learning in the classroom. Firstly we introduced Bring Your Own Learning Device (BYOLD) to our students, to try an address the shortage of ICT equipment we had at school, and secondly we knocked out the walls of our classrooms to create a Modern Learning Environment (MLE) and begin collaboratively teaching our classes.

At this time I was also fortunate enough to secure a NEXT Generation Teacher Scholarship for study at the Mind Lab. FBS is a very forward thinking school that seeks to engage, empower and enrich the students by having a strong commitment to resourcing future orientated learning and professional development for staff. All classrooms now have interactive computer boards,  i-pads, a range of netbooks and access to digital cameras and i-pods.

The school has a commitment to high academic standards and an expectation that all children will succeed. My current opportunity for post graduate study should ensure that my teaching practice is based on National and International research on best educational practice.

Our school online learning environment, KnowledgeNET enables students to post reflections on their learning and get feedback from their peers, teachers and parents.  We encourage our students to be accountable for their own learning, by documenting learning goals and progressions on our online learning environment.

It wasn’t until I started my studies at Mind Lab that I realised that this was just the tip of the iceberg!

Join me as I take you on my latest learning journey……

References
Freemans Bay School. (2015). About Us. Retrieved October 5, 2015, from Freemans Bay School: http://www.freemansbay.school.nz/freemans-bay-school/
Ministry of Education. (2015). National Standards. Retrieved October 5, 2015, from TKI: http://nzcurriculum.tki.org.nz/National-Standards
Parnell District School. (2015). Home. Retrieved October 5, 2015, from Parnell District School: http://www.parnell.school.nz/
The Mindlab by Unitec. (2015). Programme Overview. Retrieved October 5, 2015, from The Mindlab by Unitec: http://themindlab.com/programme-overview/
University of Auckland. (2015). Bachelor of Education (Teaching) Primary. Retrieved October 5, 2015, from University of Auckland: http://www.education.auckland.ac.nz/en/for/future-undergraduates/study-options/programmes-and-courses/betch-primary.html
University of Auckland. (2015). Bachelor of Education (Teaching) (Honours). Retrieved October 5, 2015, from University of Auckland: http://www.education.auckland.ac.nz/en/for/future-postgraduates/fp-study-options/pg-programmes-and-courses/be-teaching-honours.html
Leave a Reply

